WIP Report: V’s First Afghan

I started my first afghan over the weekend. I’m making it in Lion Brand Wool-Ease; I picked up the Wheat a while ago (thanks mom!) and scored some Mink Brown on clearance. I’ve been holding onto the Paprika ever since last winter when we decided what colors we wanted and have just been keeping an eye out for sales, since I knew it would be a while before I actually got around to starting it.

I’m excited to try some new stitches from the wonderful Big Book Of Crochet Stitches (again, thanks mom!) with my first design. The afghan will be alternating stripes, and I started the first section with mink brown in easy, fast double crochets. I’m just starting the first wheat section, and decided to do bobbles, which are pretty fun to make, although they took me considerably longer than double crochets.

I’m making the afghan wider than most of the patterns I’ve been browsing as per request. So far it’s pretty soft and I can’t wait until it gets long enough for me to test its warmth, since we’ve been locked into single digit temperatures the past few days.

Getting Started

Getting Started

First Section & First Row of Bobbles

Close-Up of First Section & First Row of Bobbles

About V

word mistress, librarian, yogini, feminista, organic gardener, photographer, horror aficionado, hooked on crochet & wrecking my ears with loud music.... View all posts by V

Leave a Reply

